Castling is a special type of chess move. When castling, you simultaneously move your king, and one of your rooks. The king moves two squares towards a rook, and that rook moves to the square at the other side of the king. For more details, see the rules of chess, or the answers to the questions below.
There are a number of cases when castling is not permitted.
- Your king has been moved earlier in the game.
- The rook that castles has been moved earlier in the game.
- There are pieces standing between your king and rook.
- The king is in check.
- The king moves through a square that is attacked by a piece of the opponent.
- The king would be in check after castling.
Yes. Having been in check earlier in the game does not prevent you from castling, as long as the conditions mentioned above are fulfilled.Or, in a longer form:
The player can still castle in this situation. The rules of chess state that castling is illegal, when the king or rook has moved earlier, and when in or through check. Having been in check which was removed by interposing another piece, or by taking (not with king or rook that is involved in the castling, of course) the checking piece does not prevent the player from castling later.
While castling (on the queen side) ,can I castle if my rook passes through check. I'm allways reading that the king may not castle out of ,(through),or into check. I know the rules allways specify ,the king cannot pass through check,but can the rook pass through.The rook can pass check, or better worded, through an attacked square. I.e., when all conditions that allow castling are met (rook and king have not moved, squares between rook and king are empty, king does not castle from, through, or to check), then castling is allowed, and it is of no importance whether the rook is attacked or goes via an attacked square.
So, when white castles long, a black attack to a1 or to b1 does not make that castling is no longer allowed.
In the diagram above: suppose white king and rooks have never moved. Castling long is legal for white, but in fact the worst move he can make!
No. Queens cannot castle.
Here is an example of short castling. First, white castles short, then black castles short.
And here is an example of long castling. First, white castles long, then black castles long.
Yes: In this case, castling is allowed, assuming, of course, that the king and rook haven't moved and the squares between king and rook are empty.
Kingside castling (moving the king from e1 to g1 or from e8 to g8) is notated: 0-0.
Queenside castling (moving the king from e1 to c1 or from e8 to c8) is notated: 0-0-0.
Indeed. In the above diagram, white is not allowed to castle.
By the way, the rook is also not allowed to capture when castling.
Last modified: Sunday, April 1, 2012