The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.

The Chess Variant Pages

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Rules of Chess: Castling FAQ. Frequent asked questions about castling.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
JT K wrote on 2017-03-08 UTC

To [email protected], that really just depends on what type of tournament or play it is.  Each chess organization has its own rules about announcing things and how honest mistakes are dealt with.  Generally speaking in blitz games (less than 5 minutes per side), there are some unwritten rules about how illegal moves result in a loss for that player (or it's up to the opponent whether to "forgive" the mistake). 

To comment further on the casual under-5 minute games (aside from the castling question), anyone who moves without noticing he or she is in check can actually have his/her king captured/game over.  The reason is because the opponent shouldn't have to be wasting his or her clock time saying "oh no you can't do that, sorry."