The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.



The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Rules of Chess: Castling FAQ. Frequent asked questions about castling.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
[email protected] wrote on 2017-03-04 UTCGood ★★★★

I have a question about castling.  If black is all set up to castle and the white player puts the black player in check.  The white player does not specify black is in check (stating "check" is optional).  The black player does not realize he is in check.  Can black now castle because in his mind he is not in check?  Or if black tries to castle, can white now say "You cannot do that, you are in check"?  thanks