itemid is now 'MSthe-four-modern-chess-principles' The Four 'Modern' Chess Principles

You are on the backup site for Any posts, moves, or other changes you make here will not be permanent, because the pages and database from the main site will be backed up here every midnight EST. Additionally, things may not be working right, because this site is also a testbed for newer system software. So, if you are not here to test, develop, or merely read this site, you may want to change .org to .com in the navigation bar and go to the main site.

The Chess Variant Pages

The Four 'Modern' Chess Principles

First seen in Gabriel Vicente Maura's 1968 creation Modern Chess, the four 'modern' chess principles now have generalized definitions that are available to be used in other chess variants.

The "modern" chess principles are:

"Modern" variants

The existing variants (with board size) that use the 'Modern' chess principles are:

"Modern" Principles


Compiled by:

José Manuel Carrillo-Muñiz, from Puerto Rico
May 2008

This 'user submitted' page is a collaboration between the posting user and the Chess Variant Pages. Registered contributors to the Chess Variant Pages have the ability to post their own works, subject to review and editing by the Chess Variant Pages Editorial Staff.

By Jose Carrillo.
Web page created: 2008-05-17. Web page last updated: 2008-05-17