You are on the backup site for Any posts, moves, or other changes you make here will not be permanent, because the pages and database from the main site will be backed up here every midnight EST. Additionally, things may not be working right, because this site is also a testbed for newer system software. So, if you are not here to test, develop, or merely read this site, you may want to change .org to .com in the navigation bar and go to the main site.

The Chess Variant Pages

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Russian Chess. Pieces are not removed when captured, but stacked. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Yu Ren Dong wrote on 2012-02-05 UTC


Victoria wrote on 2005-11-23 UTCGood ★★★★
I used your information for my school project, and it got me a grand grade! thanks a bundle!

Anonymous wrote on 2004-09-25 UTCPoor ★
because i am elderly man.

Charles Gilman wrote on 2004-03-08 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
I was thinking of submitting a smiilar variant myself. Just as well that I saw this page first and saved the bother.

JorgKnappen wrote on 2003-08-22 UTC
The game resembles much to Pillar Chess (described on this site)
and >>Das trojanische Spiel<< (commercial, german game, having a link
in the german section of this site).

Ivan A Derzhanski wrote on 2003-04-01 UTC
The site gives no explicit answer to that question. My own opinion is as follows: Since it is the topmost man that determines who the stack belongs to and how it moves, you shouldn't be able to castle with a Rook that's inside a stack. You should, however, regain the option of doing so if the Rook is uncaptured without having been moved out of the corner. Likewise, a Pawn captured and released before having moved should be able to make a double move. --ID

Ed wrote on 2003-04-01 UTC
Thanks for clarifying.  Can you castle using a rook which has
been 'captured' but not left its original square and is now in
a friendly stack?

Ivan A Derzhanski wrote on 2003-03-31 UTC
The King can never be within a stack. You may not capture your own King (otherwise the first thing you'd do would be to use your Queen to do so, creating a royal Queen that would be very hard to checkmate), and, as in OrthoChess, a King may not be left _en prise_ until checkmated. --ID

Ed wrote on 2003-03-31 UTC
If the king is within a stack, can that stack cross a square that is under attack by the opponent?

9 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.