Check out Alice Chess, our featured variant for June, 2024.

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Cerimon Chess. Recover pieces by checking with a like piece. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Charles Gilman wrote on Wed, Feb 9, 2005 09:08 AM UTC:
What are the en-passant and promotion rules? If a White Sergeant (a dashing one?) that has reached e5 respond to d7-d5 with e5xd6 ep? To d7-f5 with e5xe6 ep? Is there any restriction to promotion to a captured piece? Can a player with, for example, one array Rook and one promotee Rook recover the second array Rook?

Moussambani wrote on Thu, Feb 3, 2005 05:41 PM UTC:
White sergeant e7, White king f6, black king g8.

White to play, Se8=R=Rh1# is this legal? (plain English for Se8=R=Rh1# is
Sergeant moves to e8, promotes to Rook, then since a rook is checking, a
rook is resurrected at h1, which incidentally covers the flight square
completing the checkmate.)

I don't see why not, but some games have provisos against these kind of
checkmate-via-drops thing, so I thought I'd just ask.

2 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.