[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ][ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ][ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]Single Comment Space Chess. Three dimensional commercial chess variant. (3x(8x8), Cells: 192) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating] Jack E. wrote on 2004-03-13 UTCTo answer Steve's question: The piece, or pawn, making the capture and the one being captured must be on the same level at the start of the capturing move. You may not change from one level to another and capture a piece, or pawn, on the new level as part of the same move. However, after capturing a piece which occupied a Star square (or a King symbol square, if you are moving your King) on the Original Level, you have the option of remaining on the Original Level, transferring one Level, or transferring two Levels. The same options are open to you when you make a capture with a piece, or pawn, being moved for the first time. Don't forget the transfer squares available to the King, including those under the Special King Option. If by moving to a Star square or King symbol square the King can escape to a Level where he would not be under attack (even though the 'Star' or King symbol square on the Original Level was under attack), a Checkmate can be avoided. The checkmated King and every piece, or pawn, essential to the Checkmate must be on the same Level at the conclusion of the mating move, with no possibility for the King to excape by changing Levels. Snce the basic rules for chess apply to Space Chess, pawns do promote when they reach the 'enemy' Level (white must reach 'Level A', top Level, row 8 and black must reach 'Level C', bottom Level, row 1).