Check out Symmetric Chess, our featured variant for March, 2024.

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Simplified Makpong. Makruk variant.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Jean-Louis Cazaux wrote on Sun, Apr 11, 2021 06:39 PM UTC:

Also, I am not sure to well understand the most important rule:

The King may capture an attacking piece if in range, but cannot capture out of double check.

what means "if in range"? Does that just means that the King may capture an attacking piece? If the attacking piece is not 1-square away from the King I don't see how the K would have been able to capture it anyway.

and what means "capture out of double check". Here I understand that if 2 pieces are attacking the K, he cannot capture both of them. But that is trivial too, no?

So I guess that the important rule is that when a K is under check he can capture the attacking piece but it is forbidden to move the K out of check, to interpose a piece between the K and the attacking piece, or to take the attacking piece with another piece than the K. Is it correct? Or to say that when a K is under check, the only authorized move is if the K can capture the attacking piece.

Would it be possible to re-write this with no ambiguity?

Thank you