Check out Grant Acedrex, our featured variant for April, 2024.

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Lilliputian Monochromatic Alice Chess. All pieces are colorbound, and switch boards rather than switching color. (2x(6x7), Cells: 84) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Ian J wrote on Sat, Dec 21, 2002 06:41 PM UTC:Excellent ★★★★★
Peter, thanks for the explanation - I just didn't read the rules carefully
enough! Another way of saying it is that all captures are made on the same
board as the piece starts on and can only be made, in the case of an
off-color capture, if the corresponding square on the other board is
empty. The possibilty of having pieces occupying the equivalent square on 
both boards is intriguing. E.g. the White king could be on 2f1, the black
king on 1f1 and then the white king would be mated by a black cardinal on
2b5 as it couldn't move to the other board because of the presence of the
black king - or does the rule about kings not being able to be next to
each other no longer apply due to the fact they couldn't capture each
other as they're on different color squares? Anyway, assuming it still
holds, a black cardinal on 2e3 wouldn't check as it could never move to
that square.
Great game- sorry about these questions but I'm really trying to get this
as it has such promise.