Check out Grant Acedrex, our featured variant for April, 2024.

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Medusa Shogi. Missing description (11x11, Cells: 121) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Larry Smith wrote on Fri, Jan 20, 2006 03:52 PM UTC:
I've also considered another possible dynamic with the Morph piece.

For example:

A Morph captures a Knight, it becomes a Morph-Knight and the player now
has a Bishop in hand.

Then if a Morph-Knight captures a Queen, it becomes a Morph-Queen and the
player now has a Knight in hand.

This will mean that when the Morph piece is actually captured, it will
remain in its current state for re-introduction.  So if it was a
Morph-Knight when captured, it will be re-introduced as a Morph-Knight.

And this will still maintain the rule that if a Morph absorbs another
Morph, it loses its morphing ability.  So if a Morph-Knight absorbs a
Morph-Queen, it becomes a simple Queen and the player now has a
Morph-Knight in hand.  Or does it?

And pieces which are simply captured(not absorbed) by the Morph are simply
placed in hand.

Needless to say, Medusa Shogi offers some very interesting twists in play
to Pillars of Medusa.