You are on the backup site for Chessvariants.com. Any posts, moves, or other changes you make here will not be permanent, because the pages and database from the main site will be backed up here every midnight EST. Additionally, things may not be working right, because this site is also a testbed for newer system software. So, if you are not here to test, develop, or merely read this site, you may want to change .org to .com in the navigation bar and go to the main site.



The Chess Variant Pages



Rules of Chess: Knights

This webpage gives the answers to some frequently asked questions about the official rules of chess regarding Knights. For the full rules of chess, see another webpage.

Can the knight move when it does not jump over a piece?

Yes. See in the diagram below.

Can the knight jump over pieces of the same player?

Yes. See in the diagram below.

Can the knight jump over pieces of the opponent?

Yes. See in the diagram below.


Written by Hans Bodlaender
WWW page created: January 2, 2003.