[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]
Comments/Ratings for a Single Item
Fortunately L.L. Smith asked about castling in Medusa Shogi; sadly I neglected to mention it. Medusa Shogi allows for castling as follows: a) Move your King 1, 2, 3, or 4 spaces towards the Rook on the desired side. b) Place that Rook on the square next to the King, and toward the center. Thus the left Rook would go just to the King's right; or if castling to the right, that Rook would go just to the King's left. Restrictions on castling are as in western chess. The Medusa Shogi rules have been updated. Larry, thanks for that very important question.
Sorry for the delay on the creation of the ZRF. I was called out of town this week. So I just got back to working on it. And I have a question: Is the Castling move allowed in Medusa Shogi? I know that it is not common to Shogi variants, but I would advocate keeping this maneuver for Medusa Shogi. This will allow the players to quickly move their Kings into a fortified position. It will also differentiate Medusa Shogi from other Shogi variants.
As prompted by Larry's comments regaring Morph issues, I have updated the rules page with a Morph examples table. With Medusas, Morphs, and Shogi drops I really want to keep the Morph aspect as simple as possible. And now it really is quite simple. Basically, when a Morph captures a piece, that captured piece goes in-hand to drop. If it is a morph, it stays a morph. It does not matter if the Morph making the capture transforms (to the image of the captured piece) or not. The newly added Morph table (rules page) has several illustrated examples, including that of a Morph-Medusa being captured. Thanks for the comments and questions, they provided impetus to update the rules.
I've also considered another possible dynamic with the Morph piece. For example: A Morph captures a Knight, it becomes a Morph-Knight and the player now has a Bishop in hand. Then if a Morph-Knight captures a Queen, it becomes a Morph-Queen and the player now has a Knight in hand. This will mean that when the Morph piece is actually captured, it will remain in its current state for re-introduction. So if it was a Morph-Knight when captured, it will be re-introduced as a Morph-Knight. And this will still maintain the rule that if a Morph absorbs another Morph, it loses its morphing ability. So if a Morph-Knight absorbs a Morph-Queen, it becomes a simple Queen and the player now has a Morph-Knight in hand. Or does it? And pieces which are simply captured(not absorbed) by the Morph are simply placed in hand. Needless to say, Medusa Shogi offers some very interesting twists in play to Pillars of Medusa.
I have a couple of questions: 1. Are all Morphs re-introduced as simple Morphs? Or as their modified status when they were captured? 2. The pieces which a Morph absorbs, are they placed in-hand or are they completely removed from play. Here are my suggestions to the answers of these questions: 1. Morphs, regardless of their status at capture are re-introduced as simple Morphs. This will increase the value of the modified Morph on the field. 2. Pieces which the Morphs absorb are completely removed from play. Thus the player has the option of capturing the piece or absorbing it. If they capture it, they have a piece in hand to drop. If they absorb it, they have that piece already on the field.
Hi Larry: I have no ZRF plans and having seen a few of your ZRFs I'd be very pleased if you created one for Medusa Shogi. To my knowledge the updated rules should have all the information you would need. The existing Pillars of Medusa ZRF may have code you could use for the Morph and adjust for the Medusa. The pre-set has the needed font set (which includes Morph designators). Thanks for the offer and I look forward to seeing the final project.
Do you plan to create a ZRF for this game? I would be happy to work on the project.
After giving Michael Howe's comment and the Medusa much thought, and after considering the power in the game and the idea of dropping that power 'Shogi-style' I made some Medusa changes. They now move like Kings, cannot capture (only immobilize); and when Medusas are captured they become pawns, as you suggested. Many Thanks.
Thanks Michael, your comment in part '... promoted pawns reverting to pawns when captured deserves consideration.' I think you are correct. I will likely make the rule change during lunch... with all Medusas turning to pawns when captured.
I now have a preset for Medusa Shogi which can be reached by the following link. However, I do not yet have a piece holding zone. This means, unfortunately, that players would need to keep track of their pieces in-hand (plus their oponent's pieces in-hand)... By 'in-hand I mean the captured pieces that you can drop. In time I hope to add a piece holding-zone. /play/pbm/play.php?game%3DMedusa+Shogi%26settings%3DMedusaShogi
11 comments displayed
Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.