Check out Alice Chess, our featured variant for June, 2024.

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Deneb. Special pieces and winning conditions. (7x9, Cells: 63) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Tony Quintanilla wrote on Sat, Aug 30, 2003 08:32 PM UTC:Excellent ★★★★★
Very nice game. The piece capabilities are very interesting, powerful, yet
seem clear. The game aesthetics are very nice too.

💡📝Roberto Lavieri wrote on Fri, Aug 1, 2003 12:25 PM UTC:
Again with the rule that allows capture the own King: I am NOT goig to correct the ZRF, I have observed after some playtesting that Zillions captures its own King in some situations of FORCED MATE in two or three moves!, the best move that Zillions is capable to do is resign, and it do that capturing its own king!. I have to do the observation that it was not easy to me see that, Zillions seems to be a strong player of this game (or I am not!), and it was not easy to me to put Zillions in a forced mate situation, I have had to abuse of 'taking back'...

💡📝Roberto Lavieri wrote on Thu, Jul 31, 2003 01:16 PM UTC:
John, I don`t like that I can take my own King, it is an error on the ZRF, but if you don´t take your own King, no problem. In the next version I´ll revise the code, and correct this fact. (I think I have to revise other games where there are cannibal pieces, too)

John Lawson wrote on Thu, Jul 31, 2003 07:07 AM UTC:
The ZRF answers all:

1 - Soldiers can indeed capture other Soldiers.

2 - Reducers do not restrict the stationary move.

3 - You can capture your own King, but you lose.

John Lawson wrote on Wed, Jul 30, 2003 09:46 PM UTC:Good ★★★★
I have a few questions:

1 - 'When a Soldier captures a friend piece, it can promote by
COMPENSATION to a SPECIAL PIECE.'  Does that include another soldier? 
That is, can my soldiers capture each other to create three more special

2 - When a Special Piece is adjacent to a Reducer, can it still make a
stationary move to transmute into a different Special Piece?

3 - A 'rules lawyer' would notice that there is no prohibition against
capturing your own King with a Soldier.  You'd get another Special Piece,
and you can't lose by checkmate!  Is this what you meant?

5 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.