SIX FORTRESSES By Gary K. Gifford Intro: Six Fortresses is played on a 9x9 checkered board. Each side has three fortresses to protect. When pieces are captured they are removed from the game as in regular Fide chess. When a captured Fortress is removed from the board, you get pieces that you can drop (as in Shogi) and your opponent gets a King's Imposter to drop (or real King if it was his last remaining Fortress).
As in above diagram.* (Pending CV upload bug fix) Preset is here: http://play.chessvariants.org/pbm/play.php?game%3DSix+Fortresses%26settings%3Ddefault * At the start of the game, Wazirs and Ferz can be relocated to any non-fortress space on the player's own first rank. This does not count as a turn.
At the start of the game there are these pieces in the quantities shown are visible for each side: Pawns â€“ 9 Move as chess pawns; except no initial 2-step move. Promote on the last rank to R, N, B, or Q. Rooks â€“ 2 no castling Knights â€“ 2 Bishops â€“ 2 Queens â€“ 2 Wazir -2: Orthoganally, 1 Step. At start of game, Wazirs and Ferz can be relocated to nay non-fortress space on the first rank. This does not count as a turn. Ferz-2: Diagonally, 1 step. At start of game, Wazirs and Ferz can be relocated to nay non-fortress space on the first rank. This does not count as a turn. Kingâ€™s Imposter â€“ 1 Moves like a King. No castling. Check and Checkmate do not apply to the Imposter. You use them like mini-1-move Queens. When dropped, they cannot be dropped next to an enemy fortress. Fortresses - 3 These each include additional pieces as described in the rules. Fortresses CAN NOT MOVE. The last of your fortresses captured holds your King. Therefore, as long as you have 1 fortress remaining you cannot be checkmated.
Wazirs and Ferz may be repositioned prior to starting the game. They can be relocated to any non-fortress space on the player's own first rank. But you cannot put two pieces on the same square. When the first enemy Fortress is captured you get a Bishop and Knight of your color to drop as in Shogi, on your following turn or after. Your opponent gets a Kingâ€™s Imposter to drop. You can only drop one item per turn. You can have more than 1 Bishop on the same color diagonal. IMPORTANT: IMPOSTER KINGS CANNOT BE DROPPED ADJACENT TO AN ENEMY FORTRESS. THERE MUST BE AT LEAST 1 SPACE BETWEEN AN IMPOSTER KING AND AN ENEMY FORTRESS IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING AN IMPOSTER KING DROP. ***Be careful. If your King is on the board, before capturing a fortress check to see that your opponent won't be able to drop his released King's Imposter to deliver checkmate to your real King.*** When the second enemy Fortress is captured you get a Knight and Rook to drop. Your opponent gets a Kingâ€™s Imposter. When the third enemy Fortress is captured you get a Knight and Queen to drop. Your opponent gets his real King which he must place on the board. That placement counts as his turn. Play proceeds until a King is checkmated, stalemated, or a draw is agreed.
To be added later, should questions arise. Six Fortresses (c) August 2006 by Gary K. Gifford
This 'user submitted' page is a collaboration between the posting user and the Chess Variant Pages. Registered contributors to the Chess Variant Pages have the ability to post their own works, subject to review and editing by the Chess Variant Pages Editorial Staff.
By Gary K. Gifford.
Web page created: 2006-08-27. Web page last updated: 2006-08-27