Check out Chess with Different Armies, our featured variant for July, 2024.

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Space Chess. Three dimensional commercial chess variant. (3x(8x8), Cells: 192) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Tim O'Lena wrote on Sun, Mar 29, 2009 02:37 AM UTC:
OK - Where is a ZRF for this game ?

Tim O'Lena wrote on Sun, Mar 29, 2009 02:32 AM UTC:
I am reading from the original rules and I would like to add or clarify some items.

There is no restriction on using the star squares for transferring two levels on the first move. Rule 2d. clearly states:

'A piece or a pawn which lands on a 'Star' squre on its first move has the option of transferring either one or two Levels.'


Pieces are immune from capture by pieces on other levels. However, you are allowed to capture an enemy piece on a Star square and then jump to another level. The same options are open when a piece or pawn captures for the first time.

David Brown wrote on Sat, Jan 6, 2007 06:15 AM UTC:Good ★★★★

I received Space Chess as a gift, when I was A child.

Copyright 1970 from Pacific Game Company, North Hollywood, Calif. 91605

It's good to find that it was still in production for years after that. I also was looking for direction, my Grandkids lost mine last month. It was and is still a great game. Thanks for the links to the rules.

David Brown

Jack E. wrote on Sat, Mar 13, 2004 05:45 PM UTC:
To answer Steve's question:
The piece, or pawn, making the capture and the one being captured must be
on the same level at the start of the capturing move.  You may not change
from one level to another and capture a piece, or pawn, on the new level
as part of the same move.  However, after capturing a piece which
a Star square (or a King symbol square, if you are moving your King) on
the Original Level, you have the option of remaining on the Original
Level, transferring one Level, or transferring two Levels.  The same
options are open to you when you make a capture with a piece, or pawn,
being moved for the first time.
Don't forget the transfer squares available to the King, including those
under the Special King Option.  If by moving to a Star square or King
symbol square the King can escape to a Level where he would not be under
attack (even though the 'Star' or King symbol square on the Original
Level was under attack), a Checkmate can be avoided.
The checkmated King and every piece, or pawn, essential to the Checkmate
must be on the same Level at the conclusion of the mating move, with no
possibility for the King to excape by changing Levels.
Snce the basic rules for chess apply to Space Chess, pawns do promote
they reach the 'enemy' Level (white must reach 'Level A', top Level,
row 8 and black must reach 'Level C', bottom Level, row 1).

Steven wrote on Sun, Mar 7, 2004 10:01 PM UTC:
I have two questions. Can you capture and change levels on the same turn and do pawn promote on any level, or only the enemy level?

Ruth Alexander wrote on Thu, Aug 21, 2003 11:35 PM UTC:Excellent ★★★★★
I was certainly glad to find the rules for Space Chess so easily. I bought my husband a 1969 Space Chess set off of eBay a couple of years ago but it had no rules. He has a dozen regular chess sets and can't seem to get enough. He finally decided he had to learn how to play Space Chess but we never expected to be able to find the rules so easily. Thanks for sharing!!

Isaac wrote on Sun, Apr 7, 2002 02:32 AM UTC:Excellent ★★★★★
thank you for the rules for space chess. I too lost the directions to my set years ago. My set was purchased at a game store in 1994as well, looks extactly like the one you have placed on the web, but the box it came in says 1981 Pacific Game Company,INC. no. 1420

7 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.