The Chess Variant Pages



Check out Marseillais Chess, our featured variant for February, 2024.


[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Patt-schach (Stalemate chess). Players start with an illegal move from a stalemated position. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
🕸Fergus Duniho wrote on Mon, Oct 29, 2018 11:37 PM UTC:

The former is a common rule in other games, but I don't know of any game where the latter is a rule.


TheObliquityOfTheEcl wrote on Mon, Oct 29, 2018 09:03 PM UTC:

"Pawns may only promote to a piece that has been taken by the opponent" is ambiguous. Does it mean:

  • A pawn may not promote to a piece unless at least one of the starting pieces has been taken (and thus the board will always have at most the same set of 7 capturable pieces), i.e. if my opponent captures my rook I may promote only one pawn to a rook and may not promote again until my opponent captures another piece; or
  • A pawn may promote to any piece that the opponent has ever captured, i.e. if my opponent captures my rook I may thereafter promote as many pawns to rooks as I please?

George Duke wrote on Wed, Mar 1, 2017 09:49 PM UTC:Good ★★★★

The first move has to be illegal, so Black Pawn cannot on the first move take a White Pawn that has moved 1 P-a2.  Since it is legal move for Black, he cannot do so on move 1.


George Duke wrote on Mon, Dec 12, 2011 08:39 PM UTC:
Not on Black's first turn. It is 'illegal move' for any White pawn or piece to go from starting array to a2 or h2, so she is free to do so for the illegal opening requirement. The two Pawns of Black on b and g have the move to capture a2 or h2 but that would be legal. Each first move has to be illegal. Black may then take a piece on a2 or h2 turn 2 onward by any legal move. Actually both players have to occupy, attack, or protect respectively c6 and c3 on their first move, the only illegal moving of piece or Pawn. Otherwise they are subject to immediate checkmate by and if Knight reaching c6/c3. The article shows historical 'Resign' on move 2 by Wolf. That scenario is kind of a flaw or bust or cook to this CV, forcing limited line of development. Solution there is just to place the second b-Pawns at 5 and 4 instead.

Anonymous wrote on Mon, Dec 12, 2011 05:48 AM UTC:
What happen in case white player move to a2 or to h2 can they be captured

Yu Ren Dong wrote on Thu, Jan 29, 2009 04:02 PM UTC:Good ★★★★
http://www.pathguy.com/chess/PattScha.htm

Patt-schach is a good exemple improving well for Upside-Down Chess.

John Smith wrote on Sat, Dec 13, 2008 08:06 AM UTC:Good ★★★★
I think it would be interesting if you lose if all of your pieces can make a legal move.

George Duke wrote on Fri, Nov 7, 2008 02:07 AM UTC:
Good question. This is the opposite of what you mean. Almost.

George Duke wrote on Tue, Jun 22, 2004 04:22 PM UTC:Good ★★★★
I maintain the starting arrays within Passed Pawns Chess and Passed Pawns, Scorpions and Dragon are improvements over this 'advanced pawns' concept. I did not find Patt-schach and Upside-Down Chess right away(although I knew I had seen them about 1996), as references for those two variant pages from 2003, designed equally to highlight Falcon move.

John Lawson wrote on Tue, Jun 22, 2004 03:18 AM UTC:
No, you can't. The white pawns are moving UP the board, and the black are moving DOWN.

Anonymous wrote on Tue, Jun 22, 2004 02:29 AM UTC:
How is this position stalemate? Can't you move your pawns???

11 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.