Check out Alice Chess, our featured variant for June, 2024.


[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Trojan chess. the rules for the knight piece have been changed. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
🔔Notification on Wed, May 15 07:16 PM UTC:

The author, Piotr Smagacz, has updated this page.


💡📝Piotr Smagacz wrote on Wed, Dec 6, 2023 12:20 PM UTC:

This submission is now ready for publication. Please check if everything is OK.


💡📝Piotr Smagacz wrote on Sun, Nov 5, 2023 08:07 PM UTC:

Updated. The method of separating a pawn from a knight has been changed. Now you cannot separate a pawn during a move in which the Knight captures the opponent's piece. A variant of the Queen's promotion to Chancellor has been added and the description has been corrected.


💡📝Piotr Smagacz wrote on Thu, Oct 5, 2023 06:29 PM UTC:

Updated, changed the method of pawn promotion


💡📝Piotr Smagacz wrote on Thu, Sep 21, 2023 07:12 AM UTC:

Everything updated - my submission is ready.


H. G. Muller wrote on Thu, Sep 14, 2023 02:37 PM UTC in reply to Piotr Smagacz from 01:23 PM:

I like the idea of using the Horse as carrier for Pawns or Kings. But the current rules seem a bit messy to me. For instance, the moves are not always reversible: a Pawn can step out of the Knight in any of the 8 directions, but it can only step back into the resulting Horse for one of those.

The text does not exclude that the carried piece could make a capture when separating from the (Royal) Knight, so I assume this is possible. I wonder if this doesn't make the Knight too powerful, because it basically becomes a Centaur (KN), with the quirk that if it captures through a K move you cannot reacapture it, but at most the Pawn, while the Horse is invulnerable  and can easily recharge to become another Centaur. This is almost as good as having rifle capture to adjacent squares. And that you can do it even after your move as an extra makes it similar to burning (like Odin's Forest Ox).

What happens if a Pawn ends up on last rank when leaving the Knight? Does it promote?

It also seems very hard to checkmate a Royal Knight, if it can make the royal piece to such a large number of targets (every square in a 7x7 area except the corners).

I would do away with the separating after the move. And perhaps limit the separating moves to non-captures.


💡📝Piotr Smagacz wrote on Thu, Sep 14, 2023 01:23 PM UTC:

My submission is ready


7 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.