The Chess Variant Pages

Check out Metamachy, our featured variant for December, 2023.

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
All-mate Chess. Pieces are captured by having them `checkmated'. (8x8, Cells: 64) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Alfred Pfeiffer wrote on Fri, Aug 9, 2002 06:13 PM UTC:
I still have a question: When multiple pieces are mated, and then the
removing of the first of them results in the effect that the remaining
piece(s) no longer will be mated, do you then stop the removing or
do you continue to remove until you have removed all initially mated 

Peter Aronson wrote on Fri, Aug 9, 2002 05:58 PM UTC:
I've updated the page, except for the last point, since I am not 100% sure of that one. <p> Thanks for the good questions, Robert!

Peter Aronson wrote on Fri, Aug 9, 2002 05:49 PM UTC:
Whoops!  I missed the part about check being ignored.  I guess if, by
selecting the order in which pieces are mated you mate the opposing King
before yours is, you do win.  Sorry about that!

Peter Aronson wrote on Fri, Aug 9, 2002 03:51 PM UTC:
My rules don't say, but in general in Chess you are not allowed to make any move that causes your King to be attacked, so the move you describe might not be kosher. I don't know.

Robert wrote on Fri, Aug 9, 2002 12:38 PM UTC:
'All mated pieces are captured, in the order chosen by moving player.'

Sometimes making a move can result in some of your own pieces being mated.
Is it still the player who moves, who decides what order the pieces are
removed? If a move simultaneously results in the King's of both sides
being mated, does the attacking player win, because presumably they would
choose to remove the opponents King before their own.

Peter Aronson wrote on Fri, Aug 9, 2002 04:18 AM UTC:
Having consulted the Encyclopedia of Chess variants, I think I can answer your questions: <ul><p><li> Yes, you must capture mated pieces. </li><p><li> All mated pieces are captured, in the order chosen by moving player. </li><p><li> If more pieces are mated (of either side) by the removal of mated pieces, then those pieces are captured as well. </li></ul>

Robert wrote on Thu, Aug 8, 2002 07:47 PM UTC:
If you mate a piece, does the attacking player have the option of not removing the piece from the board. Also, what happens if you simultaneously mate more than once piece. Are all mated pieces removed? What happens, if in mating a piece and removing it, the removal results in another piece being mated. Do you follow the chain until no more pieces are in a mate position?

7 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.