The site has moved to a new server, and there are now some issues to fix. Please report anything needing fixing with a comment to the homepage.



The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Renniassance Chess. With 68 pieces on board of 12 by 12. (12x10, Cells: 120) [All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
Greg Strong wrote on 2021-05-11 UTC

It is not clear to me what happens when a Pawn is on 9th rank, and nothing of that color is captured yet. Is the move to 10th rank now forbidden? Or would the Pawn just stay a Pawn? (This could make sense to capture something.) If the move to 10th rank is forbidden, would it still check a King on 10th rank?

I think we should follow the Grand Chess rules for promote-by-replacement.  A pawn cannot move to the 10th rank if there is nothing to promote to, but it can still give check.  This would never happen in a real game anyway.