You are on the backup site for Chessvariants.com. Any posts, moves, or other changes you make here will not be permanent, because the pages and database from the main site will be backed up here every midnight EST. Additionally, things may not be working right, because this site is also a testbed for newer system software. So, if you are not here to test, develop, or merely read this site, you may want to change .org to .com in the navigation bar and go to the main site.



The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Earliest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Single Comment

Chess. The rules of chess. (8x8, Cells: 64) (Recognized!)[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
David Derrick wrote on 2010-07-20 UTC
In the nearly five decades of playing just-for-fun chess, my biggest
rewards have been teaching newcomers.

This reward has been a doubled-edged sword in that all students eventually
began to beat me -- regularly.  (Which rather proves my mediocre game
skills.)

However, recently I came across a questionable move for which I cannot find
an answer: 

WHAT IS THE SITUATION WHEN A PAWN, ON ITS FIRST MOVE, TAKES THE OPTION OF
THE TWO SPACES ADVANCE AND IN SO DOING MOVES ACROSS A SPACE THAT COULD HAVE
WITNESSED ITS CAPTURE BY AN OPPOSING BISHOP?  It is virtually an en passant
situation, yet I don't believe the Bishop enjoys the same advantage that a
pawn has.

(It would be the in the case of a Rook, but most unlikely to progress that
far.)

I would be greatly appreciative for your comments on this.

DAVID DERRICK
[email protected]