You are on the backup site for Chessvariants.com. Any posts, moves, or other changes you make here will not be permanent, because the pages and database from the main site will be backed up here every midnight EST. Additionally, things may not be working right, because this site is also a testbed for newer system software. So, if you are not here to test, develop, or merely read this site, you may want to change .org to .com in the navigation bar and go to the main site.



The Chess Variant Pages



Sample game of chess pool, v. 0.50

This document has been prepared as a clarification of some of the points of Chess Pool for two players, version 0.50. It is a supplement to the document that gives the rules to that game, not a recording of a game that was actually played.

In the pool table diagrams that follow, the pieces will be represented thus:

	r = 1  R = 9
	n = 2  N = 10   O=cue
	b = 3  B = 11   8=8
	q = 4  Q = 12
so that capital letters belong to Stripe and lowercase to Solid.

Also, a minus sign (-) will be placed to the left of pieces which are to be removed before the next shot occurs, as the result of a capture.

The diagrams are so positioned that, on my particular Compaq winCE thingy, a PgDn will get neatly from one to the next. A one-line caption appears *below* each diagram, with running commentary to the right. Proper resizing of your browser window will preserve this effect.

Shot notation

[the following is of an unnecessarily confusing nature. Reader discretion is advised.]

At the end of each digram caption after the break, a shorthand will be used to tell which balls collided, followed if necessary by explanatory verbage on the next caption. The simpler shots will look something like this:

  O-R-q-X3
Which means that the cueball hit Stripe's rook (9), which hit Solid's queen (q), which landed in the upper-right corner pocket from the perspective of the diagrams. I number the pockets arbitrarily:
  X1--X2--X3
  |        |
  X6--X5--X4
The dash ("-") denotes that the ball named on the left struck the one named on the right, and that the latter was at rest. "=" is used to denote that both were in motion. Separate strings of collisions are separated by commas.

**** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** **** ****
+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | 
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | Here's the empty table.
|  \                                        /  | Player 1 breaks.
|  |                                        |  |
|a |                                        | a|
|  |                                        |  | [PgDn]
| -|                                        |- |
| -|                                        |- |
|  |                                        |  |
|b |                                        | b|
|  |                                        |  |
| -|         \/                  \/         |- |
| -|         /\                  /\         |- |
|  |     O                                  |  |
|c |                                        | c|
|  |                                        |  |
| -|                                        |- |
| -|                                        |- |
|  |                                        |  |
|d |                                        | d|
|  |                                        |  |
|  /                                        \  |
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | |
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------------------------+
Fig 0 [ABOVE] - empty pool table with ranks and files numbered.



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | No balls were pocketed.
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | 1 chooses to be Solids.
|  \                                        /  |
|  |       N                                |  | Stripe chooses to call 
|a |                                        | a| "Queen takes King", and
|  |                           B          q |  | places the cueball at the
| -|                                        |- | "." in d6, a space his
| -|                          r             |- | queen (Q) could reach.
|  |                                        |  |
|b |                                 8      | b| Stripe attempts to send
|  |                                        |  | Q slightly to its right
| -|         \/                  \/         |- | after the collision to 8,
| -|         /\            O     /\         |- | so that it can capture
|  |            n                           |  | Solid's queen also.
|c |                                        | c|
|  |                            Q           |  | 
| -|                                        |- | 
| -|                          .    b        |- |
|  |                                        |  |
|d |                                        | d|
|  |                       R                |  |
|  /                                        \  |
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | | Result: O-Q-8-q, Q-r
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------------------------+--+                  [PgDn]
Fig  1: Stripe to move.  Immediately after break. |



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | Prev result: O-Q-8-q, Q-r
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | 
|  \                                      q /  | The capture was successful
|  |       N                                |  | because the declared cap-
|a |                                        | a| turer struck the declared
|  |                           B            |  | target before any other.
| -|                                        |- | The notation shows at a
| -|                       -r Q             |- | glance that four col-
|  |                                      -8|  | lisions occurred; and that
|b |                                        | b| two of them were between
|  |                                        |  | opposing pieces (the 8-
| -|         \/                  \/         |- | ball is considered to
| -|         /\                  /\         |- | belong to Solid for this
|  |            n                           |  | shot because Stripe de-
|c |                                        | c| clared it as target.)
|  |                                        |  |
| -|                                        |- | Thus, r and 8 are removed.
| -|                               b        |- | Stripe chooses to replace
|  |                                        |  | the captured 8 with b.
|d |                                        | d| q might have been a better
|  |                       R       O        |  | choice, but Stripe feels
|  /                                        \  | that q is close enough
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | | to the pocket that it will
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  | die sooner or later.
+----------------------------------------------+-------------+       [PgDn]
Fig 2a: After Stripe's shot before removal of captured pieces|



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | Here's the board after the 
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | removal of r and 8, and
|  \                                      q /  | the swapping of b for 8.
|  |       N                                |  | 
|a |                                        | a| It is now Solid's move. He
|  |                           B            |  | fears for the safety of
| -|                                        |- | his queen and considers
| -|                          Q             |- | declaring q*R just for
|  |                                        |  | the opportunity to move it
|b |  .                                     | b| away from its perilous
|  |                                        |  | position.  However, the
| -|         \/                  \/         |- | best cueball position for
| -|         /\                  /\         |- | that is b8, which would
|  |            n                           |  | likely result in the loss
|c |                                        | c| of q or a scratch.  Thus
|  |                                        |  | Solid declares n*R and
| -|                                        |- | moves the cueball to "."
| -|                               8        |- | in b1, which is a knight-
|  |                                        |  | hop away from c3.
|d |                                        | d|
|  |                       R       O        |  | Result: O-n-R, n-8
|  /                                        \  |
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | |
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------------------------+
Fig 2b: Solid to move.



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | Prev res: O-n-R,n-8 
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | 
|  \                                      q /  | The capture was successful
|  |       N              .                 |  | and R is tagged for
|a |                                        | a| removal. Its resting place
|  |                           B            |  | is shown here, but it will
| -|                                        |- | be plucked from the board
| -|                          Q             |- | before Stripe makes the
|  |                                        |  | next move.
|b |                   -R                   | b| 
|  |                                        |  | *note that 8 was not cap-
| -|         \/                  \/         |- | tured.  Since it was not
| -|         /\                  /\         |- | declared capturer or tar-
|  |            O                           |  | get, it has diplomatic
|c |                                        | c| immunity, counting as
|  |                              n         |  | neither player's piece.
| -|                                        |- | 
| -|                                   8    |- | Solid calls Q*8, moves
|  |                                        |  | cueball to ".", and
|d |                                        | d| fires.
|  |                                        |  |
|  /                                        \  | 
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | | Rslt: O-Q-n O-B Q-8-q 8-X4
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------------------------+-----------------------+
Fig 3 : Stripe to move..  "-R" means R is removed before Stripe's shot.|



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | O-Q-n, O-B, Q-8-q, 8-X4
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/q| | 
|  \                                        /  | Stripe's shot went some-
|  |       N                                |  | what awry.  The cueball
|a |                           B  O  8      | a| caromed off n before
|  |                                        |  | hitting 8, so the capture
| -|                                        |- | was unsuccessful.  But
| -|                                        |- | the 8-ball did land in the
|  |                                        |  | pocket legally, since
|b |                                        | b| there was no foul or
|  |                                        |  | scratch. Stripe chose to
| -|         \/                  \/         |- | swap it with q, which he
| -|         /\                  /\         |- | dropped into the pocket.
|  |                                        |  |
|c |                                        | c| Solid cannot capture with
|  |                                        |  | 8 because he still has a
| -|                          n             |- | friendly piece (n).  Thus
| -|                                        |- | he tries n*8 from the ".".
|  |                                        |  |
|d |                                        | d| Unfortunately, he sneezes.
|  |                 .               Q      |  |
|  /                                        \  | 
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | | Result: O-8-X4
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------------------------+-----+
Fig 4 : Solid to move. q was swapped into the pocket.|



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | O-8-X4
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/8| | 
|  \                                        /  | Solid's cueball missed his
|  |       N                                |  | knight entirely, instead
|a |                           B            | a| hitting and pocketing the
|  |                                        |  | 8-ball. This is a foul be-
| -|                                        |- | cause Solid still has a
| -|                            O           |- | friendly piece, and it
|  |                                        |  | must be hit first.
|b |                                        | b|
|  |                                        |  | Thus Stripe may place the
| -|         \/                  \/         |- | illegally-pocketed 8ball
| -|         /\                  /\         |- | (at the position marked ')
|  |                                        |  | before shooting.
|c |                                        | c|
|  |                                        |  | He calls Q*8 and places
| -|                          n         .   |- | the cueball at ., hoping
| -|                             '          |- | to bank Q off the bottom
|  |                                        |  | rail and capture both 8
|d |                                        | d| and n. This he fails.
|  |                                 Q      |  |
|  /                                        \  | 
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | | Result: O-Q-8-n
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------------------------+-----------------+
Fig 5 : Stripe to move.  Solid has fouled.  Stripe places 8 at '.|



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | Result: O-Q-8-n
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | 
|  \                                        /  | Stripe's shot only cap-
|  |       N                                |  | tured the 8.  This he
|a |                           B            | a| swaps with n, having no
|  |                                        |  | other option.  Thus n
| -|                                        |- | is immediately removed.
| -|                                        |- | It is depicted at left to
|  |                                        |  | show where 8 originally
|b |                                   O    | b| came to rest.
|  |                         -n             |  | 
| -|         \/                  \/         |- | Now there are no solids
| -|         /\                  /\         |- | left, and no pieces are
|  |                                        |  | adjacent to the 8-ball,
|c |                                 Q      | c| so Solid slops, hoping
|  |                      8                 |  | to hit the 8-ball from
| -|                                        |- | the bottom rail and pocket
| -|                                        |- | N.
|  |                                        |  | 
|d |                                        | d| 
|  |                                        |  | Result: O-8-N
|  /                                        \  |
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | |
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------------------------+--------------------------+
Fig 6 : after swap of captured 8 with n -- n to be removed; Solid to move.|



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | Result: O-8-N
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | 
|  \                                        /  | The shot did not have the
|  |                               O        |  | intended effect, but the
|a | N                         B            | a| 8-ball happened to land
|  |                                        |  | out of the capturing range
| -|              8                         |- | of every striped piece.
| -|                                        |- | 
|  |                                        |  | Thus, Stripe slops, trying
|b |                                        | b| for O-B-8-X1.
|  |                                        |  | 
| -|         \/                  \/         |- | 
| -|         /\                  /\         |- | Result: O-B-8-N
|  |                                        |  | 
|c |                                 Q      | c|
|  |                                        |  | 
| -|                                        |- | 
| -|                                        |- | 
|  |                                        |  | 
|d |                                        | d| 
|  |                                        |  |
|  /                                        \  |
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | |
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------------------------+--------------------------+
Fig 7 : Stripe to move.



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | Result: O-B-8-N
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | 
|  \                                        /  | Solid immediately calls
|  |  8                                     |  | 8*N and looks for a good
|a |         .                  O           | a| position for the cueball.
|  |                                        |  | Placing the cueball just
| -|                                        |- | behind the 8 would make
| -|                                        |- | for an ideal shot, but is
|  |                                        |  | illegal because a Chess
|b | N                                      | b| king cannot reach a1 from
|  |                                        |  | a1.  Thus Solid chooses
| -|         \/                  \/         |- | the position marked "."
| -|         /\                  /\         |- | in a2.
|  |                                        |  | 
|c |                                 Q      | c| He attempts to strike
|  |                                        |  | the 8-ball just right
| -|                                        |- | of center so it will bank
| -|                                        |- | and hit N.
|  |                                        |  | 
|d |                                        | d| 
|  |               B                        |  | Result: O-8-N, O-B-X5
|  /                                        \  |
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | |
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------------------------+--------------------------+
Fig 8 : Solid to move.



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | Result: O-8-N, O-B-X5
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | 
|  \                                        /  | The outcome was better
|  |                                        |  | than expected.  Not only
|a |                                        | a| was the capture successful
|  |                                        |  | but the cueball also
| -|                                        |- | managed to put B into the
| -|                                        |- | side pocket.
|  |   8                                    |  | 
|b |                                        | b| Stripe has only a single
|  |                                        |  | piece remaining, and it
| -| -N      \/                  \/         |- | is not in a position to
| -|         /\                  /\         |- | make a capture.  He must
|  |                                        |  | slop, and attempts to do
|c |                                 Q      | c| so in such a way that his
|  |                                        |  | queen stays out of the
| -|                                        |- | King's reach.
| -|                                        |- | 
|  |                                        |  | 
|d |          O                             | d| Result: O-Q foul
|  |                                        |  |
|  /                                        \  |
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | |
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------------------------+--------------------------+
Fig 9 : Stripe to move (after removal of N)



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  | Result: O-Q foul
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | 
|  \                                        /  | The cueball hit Q as
|  |                                        |  | planned, but the shot was
|a |                                        | a| a foul because no ball hit
|  |                                        |  | a rail or pocket.  A
| -|                                        |- | somewhat more forceful
| -|.                                       |- | shot was in order.  Now
|  |   8                                    |  | Solid may move the cue-
|b |                                        | b| ball whether he slops or
|  |                                        |  | captures.  Since there
| -|         \/                  \/    Q    |- | are no captures possible,
| -|         /\                  /\         |- | he chooses the former.
|  |                                        |  | 
|c |                                        | c| Sensing the time has come
|  |                                        |  | for decisive action, he
| -|                                  O     |- | places the cueball at
| -|                                        |- | "." and attempts to pocket
|  |                                        |  | Q with 8.
|d |                                        | d| 
|  |                                        |  |
|  /                                        \  | Result: O-8-Q
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | |
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------------------------+--------------------------+
Fig 10: Solid (8) to move.



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  |
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | Result: O-8-Q
|  \                                        /  |
|  |                                        |  | The attempt backfires, and
|a |                                        | a| the king finds itself
|  |                 .      Q             8 |  | staring down the Queen's
| -|                                        |- | barrel.
| -|                                        |- |
|  |                                        |  | Stripe quickly calls Q*8,
|b |                                        | b| puts cueball at "." and
|  |                                        |  | shoots.
| -|         \/                  \/         |- |
| -|         /\                  /\         |- |
|  |                                        |  | Result: Q-8=Q
|c | O                                      | c|
|  |                                        |  |
| -|                                        |- |
| -|                                        |- |
|  |                                        |  |
|d |                                        | d|
|  |                                        |  |
|  /                                        \  |
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | |
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------+-----------------------+
Fig 11: Stripe to move |



+----------------------------------------------+
|  _  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4/--\5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  _  |
| | \-----------------|  |-----------------/ | | Result: Q-8=Q
|  \                               -Q       /  |
|  |                                        |  | The shoddy work by Stripe
|a |                                        | a| has cost him the game.
|  |                       O                |  | His Queen nailed the 8
| -|                                        |- | as planned, but the 8
| -|                                   -8   |- | hit the rail and bounced
|  |                                        |  | back to hit Q.  The 8 was
|b |                                        | b| a hostile piece because
|  |                                        |  | it had been named target,
| -|         \/                  \/         |- | so it was capable of
| -|         /\                  /\         |- | causing capture.
|  |                                        |  |
|c |                                        | c| The game, disappointingly,
|  |                                        |  | is a draw, since no pieces
| -|                                        |- | remain on the table.  As
| -|                                        |- | happens occasionally in
|  |                                        |  | Chess, the player with a
|d |                                        | d| clear advantage has thrown
|  |                                        |  | away his win.
|  /                                        \  |
| | /-----------------|  |-----------------\ | |
|  -  1 <> 2 <> 3 <> 4\--/5 <> 6 <> 7 <> 8  -  |
+----------------------------+-----------------+
Fig 12: Game over - stalemate|

Written by Robert Price.
Webpage made: January 24, 2000.