The Chess Variant Pages

Check out Expanded Chess, our

featured variant for September, 2023.

[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order EarlierEarliest
Rules of Chess: En passant capture FAQ. Answers to some questions about the en passant capture rule.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
🕸📝Fergus Duniho wrote on 2018-08-04 UTC

One reason to format a page for mobile first is that browsers on old mobile devices cannot be updated as easily as browsers on desktops, leaving some mobile browsers without the functionality of the most up-to-date browers. So, if the default formatting is suitable from a mobile device, it will look right even if that browsers is not up-todate. With that in mind, I replaced the tables used to display three diagrams in a row with flexboxes that will display them in a row only on browsers with up-to-date flexbox capability and a wide-enough screen to display them in a row. On older browsers or on smaller devices, it will display them in a column.

🕸📝Fergus Duniho wrote on 2018-07-14 UTC

I noticed the old diagram positions started from illegal positions. I fixed that by creating new diagrams that use legal positions.

🕸📝Fergus Duniho wrote on 2018-07-13 UTC

I came across this page because another page was trying to link to it with a bad link. While here, I noticed that it looked a mess with its Javascript graphics that used a separate image for each space. I replaced these with single images for each diagram, I edited the text, added new questions, and fixed the formatting so that the three cells in each table row will display vertically on mobile devices but still display horizontally on desktops.

Christine Bagley-Jones wrote on 2011-04-03 UTC

Anonymous wrote on 2011-04-03 UTCPoor ★
Description of pawn move does not use standard terminology.
A pawn does not make a 'double-step' move, it moves 2 squares.

M Winther wrote on 2009-10-18 UTC
Yes, of course.

Jim wrote on 2009-10-18 UTC
Suppose a black pawn has the opportunity to capture a white pawn en passant, but the player with black decides not to exercise the en passant option his next move. He has lost the chance to do it later in the game. But suppose later in the game that same black pawn has the opportunity to capture a different white pawn en passant. Can that same black pawn that opted not to capture en passant earlier in the game now legally capture a different white pawn en passant?

Anonymous wrote on 2009-09-02 UTC
Tom, yes, you are right. The reason for en passant is so the pawn cannot avoid capture with the 2-step move.

tom wrote on 2009-09-02 UTC
excellent ! finally I understand it . the idea being pawn cannot avoid capture by the option of two square move.?

Anonymous wrote on 2008-06-16 UTCExcellent ★★★★★

sathish wrote on 2008-06-06 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
it helped me a lot

Saif wrote on 2008-04-21 UTCExcellent ★★★★★
A very easy to understand description of En Passant rule.. i had to visit
several other pages to understand this rule but only here i understood how
it works.

Joe Joyce wrote on 2008-03-07 UTC
The purpose of the en passant rule is to give neighboring pawns one chance to capture. It doesn't make any difference which pawn gets that one chance to capture. In both the cases you mentioned, the pawn that just moved [the one that just double-stepped] could have captured the pawn that had moved up to a diagonally adjacent position, a pawns' mutual capture position, on a previous turn. Since the opportunity to capture was there, then the pawn that you are asking about cannot capture by an en passant move. Note that in a legal en passant move, the pawn moves 1 square diagonally forward, its standard capture move, whereas your suggested move would have the pawn capture with an orthogonally sideways move, one the pawn cannot make.
I hope this answers your question adequately.

jim wrote on 2008-03-06 UTC
so what if you advance a pawn to a6 and the b7 pawn moves to b5, can you
capture en passant? also i too would like an answer to the following
previously posted question: I WANT TO ASK ABOUT THE SITUATION WHEN E2

my email is: [email protected]

Sid Montero wrote on 2008-01-31 UTC

Reinhard Scharnagl wrote on 2008-01-31 UTC
The question: 'Can other pieces except pawns capture en passant?' has been negated. But that is not quite exact. I will explain this: There had been a time in ancient chess, where pieces had been allowed to make only one single step. Thus chess had been a very slow game. Later in Italy chess has been modernized: the sliding of some pieces has been invented, an initial double step of pawns was introduced, and castlings were designed. But those moves have not been regarded each to be a continuous move, instead they had been interpreted as a serie of independent moves, by which chess could be sped up. This point of view leads by exception of the sliding moves (to avoid trouble when those pieces do capturings themselves) to the situation, that an opponent was allowed to answer by capturing also to any of the intermediately used target fields. Now only pawns are allowed to answer that way on pawns double step moves. And so it is clear, why that e.p move is merely allowed in the intermediate following move. But looking at castling moves you see, that a king still is not allowed to pass any square, where he would be in chess. That is nothing else, than that every enemy piece would be allowed to capture him via e.p..

Anonymous wrote on 2008-01-31 UTCExcellent ★★★★★

Bob Larson wrote on 2007-09-04 UTC
Can you redesign the page so it will print out completely rather than cut off the chess board illustrations.

E Mail: [email protected]

Anonymous wrote on 2007-08-18 UTCExcellent ★★★★★

goofy wrote on 2007-08-01 UTC
question what does the term LIMITS and OPEN LINE mean

Ernie J wrote on 2007-04-08 UTCExcellent ★★★★★

josef wrote on 2007-03-14 UTC
MY EMAIL :   [email protected]

cathalhnally wrote on 2007-01-10 UTC
i noticed on your examples that the captured piece always has cover for reprisal (the advancing piece can be captured). Can this move be used in the latter stages of a game where the defence would be totally exposed? Delighted to have found this move out (the hard way, ie. during play) and i'm curious of other 'lesser' known rules.



Chris wrote on 2006-10-21 UTCExcellent ★★★★★

Sam Trenholme wrote on 2006-10-06 UTC
1. e4 e6 2. e5 d5 3. exd6 (en passent) is legal in Chess; the presence of the pawn on e6 changes nothing.

- Sam

25 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order EarlierEarliest

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.