You are on the backup site for Chessvariants.com. Any posts, moves, or other changes you make here will not be permanent, because the pages and database from the main site will be backed up here every midnight EST. Additionally, things may not be working right, because this site is also a testbed for newer system software. So, if you are not here to test, develop, or merely read this site, you may want to change .org to .com in the navigation bar and go to the main site.



The Chess Variant Pages




[ Help | Earliest Comments | Latest Comments ]
[ List All Subjects of Discussion | Create New Subject of Discussion ]
[ List Latest Comments Only For Pages | Games | Rated Pages | Rated Games | Subjects of Discussion ]

Comments/Ratings for a Single Item

Later Reverse Order Earlier
Chak. A modern vision of what a Mayan chess would look like.[All Comments] [Add Comment or Rating]
H. G. Muller wrote on 2022-01-20 UTC

Nice! One thing I notice is that the script asks if you want to promote -- it's mandatory and not a choice.

Good point. I used the regular Shogi-style promotion supported by the Diagram, which always offers the choice. It is possible to implement mandatory promotion by supplying an additional JavaScript routine WeirdPromotion() on the page, which is a bit of a hassle. Perhaps I should support an alternative method for declaring promotion mandatory, e.g. through the already existing promoChoice parameter to the Diagram. With Shogi-style promotions this is currently not used. It would be logical to let the setting + mean mandatory promotion, and += that there is a choice. Unfortunately this is not backward compatible with Diagrams of games with Shogi-style promotion I (and others) made in the past, which often specify promoChoice as just +,  or not at all. I will give it some thought how best to make this a standard feature of the Diagram.

[Edit] OK. I fixed it by using a newly added feature of the Diagram (so only active after refresh of the browser cache): if the promoChoice string contains !L in some variant with Shogi-style promotion (i.e. promoOffset non-zero), the piece with ID L will not be allowed to defer, and will promote automatically on reaching the zone. This was inspired on the same notation being used with Chess-style promotions for indicated that the choice is not allowed on last rank. (Which is commonly used to force promotion of a Pawn there when promotion on other ranks is optional.)


Daniel Lee wrote on 2022-01-19 UTC

Nice! One thing I notice is that the script asks if you want to promote -- it's mandatory and not a choice.


H. G. Muller wrote on 2022-01-16 UTC

Interesting variant. The following Diagram gives a good approximation. (Requires a refresh of the browser cache, to make pieces without any moves work.)

ranks=9 files=9 graphicsDir=../graphics.dir/alfaeriePNG35/ whitePrefix=w blackPrefix=b graphicsType=png squareSize=35 symmetry=rotate promoZone=5 promoOffset=8 promoChoice=!P!K maxPromote=2 royal=2 royal=10 stalemate=win counterbare=lose pawn::fsmWfcF::a3,c3,e3,g3,i3 king::K::e1 offering::-:ram:e2 shaman::FvW:guard:c1,g1 vulture::N:knight:b1,h1 serpent:R:R:rook:a1,i1 quetzal::pQ:paovao:f1 jaguar::KN:knightguard:d1 warrior::FvW:berolinapawn: divine king::Q2:falcon:

I also had to implement something for winning by reaching a target square. Such a game rule is also encountered in King of the Hill and Kahn Chess. For the moment this is handled through the routine BadZone() in a user-supplied script, (which was needed here anyway for preventing promoted pieces move back into their own half): when this function returns -1 the Diagram's standard script now interprets this as a winning move, rather than a forbidden move. Such a win is treated as baring in Shatranj, so that there is an after-move for proving the move was legal, and would declare a loss instead if it exposed royalty to capture. This again required the result of counter-baring to be specified by a parameter, (rather than always being a draw), as it should not be possible to draw here by reaching the Altar on the half-move following the one where the opponent did.


Daniel Lee wrote on 2022-01-16 UTC

Oops, I think I lost the image for that. I'll update.


Jean-Louis Cazaux wrote on 2022-01-15 UTC

Great looking, nice thema. What I have not understood reading the rules, is how the pieces start? What is the initial setup?


5 comments displayed

Later Reverse Order Earlier

Permalink to the exact comments currently displayed.